I Can’t Believe I Said That!

October 16, 2013
I can't believe I said that!

I can’t believe I said that!

Have you ever had the perfect retort to a remark, or the perfect reply to a question – but only thought of it the next day? Too late! At the actual time, instead of the perfect response, you stammered with an answer that you knew was inadequate.

That happened to me a few weeks ago. I was at a special dinner banquet. After desert had been served, a friend, who I only see occasionally, overheard another person at the table talking with me about this website. My friend asked what I was writing. I told him I had a passion to help those diagnosed with cancer by providing the latest science backed information about improving the health of the immune system. I explained, it is vitally important for anyone diagnosed with cancer, alongside of their selected treatment, to take the needed steps to restore the health of their immune system. The immune system is the final arbiter in a person being able to control cancer.

My friend asked, “What do you suggest?” I started to explain that there are four key aspects to having a healthy immune system. But before I could go further, he said, “Which is the most important?”...[Continue reading}

What Is Your “Why”?

This question, for some reason, caught me off guard. His question made sense. It was getting close to the time for the speaker to begin the program. My friend is an engineer by education and occupation. Since we only had a few more minutes before the program would start, he wanted to focus on the most important aspect. He is a  “the main thing is the main thing” type of person.

There are four key aspects to a healthy immune system: diet, exercise, stress management, and a healthy digestive tract. I found myself answering, “a healthy digestive tract.” Why did I ever say that?

The next day I was thinking about our conversation, I realized my answer was woefully inadequate and misleading. The four aspects of immune health are an integrated whole. No one aspect can stand on its own. Why did I say the health of the digestive system is the most important of the four? I believe it was because few people understand the connection between the immune system and the digestive tract.

What I should have said is that the most important aspect of restoring immune health is discipline and knowing your “Why” – why do you get up in the morning? Unless you have a good reason to change a bad habit into a good habit, you most likely will be unable to instill the discipline in your life to make the change.

“Why” is what gets us through the tough times.

Cancer is difficult, it is depressing. Depression withers the soul. Sometimes it is hard to stay focused on your “Why”.

I don’t know your “Why”, but I can offer you a suggestion. Take a look at the door of your refrigerator – an almanac of emotion. On our refrigerator door, from top to bottom, there are pictures of our ten grandchildren, with notes and cards – reasons to look forward to tomorrow. Dreams of tomorrow – “Why” tomorrow is important.